Lincoln isn’t the place I was born, nor the place I intend to stay. It’s remotely a place where I am. With little meaning to where I want to go, Lincoln is simply a stop along the way. We all have dreams and destinations, but people seem to forget out the path it takes to get there. Though my dream may not take place in Lincoln, this place still has some value. 

From the thousands of mall trips and days spent in school and the friends who came along too, Lincoln can be a great place to be. 

The malls aren’t too big, but they’re not small. Not to mention, there’s more than one. They contain a variety of stores, filled with items ranging from clothing to shoes to food to home decor. Some might say the malls are too small or outdated, but they’re just right to most in Lincoln. You would think after going to a place over and over again, it might get a little old, but not for 15 and 16 year old girls who could spend their money on coffee and cheap shirts any day. 

That’s one of my best memories in Lincoln, watching people walk down the mall halls with bags in hand and a typically quick pace. I enjoy gazing into windows and looking for something just begging for me to get it. No, I’m not much of a shopper, but I’d say it’s the friends who go with that only make it that much better. Much like, if you eat cake on a random night, you get a little guilty, but if you eat cake at your friend’s birthday, you don’t even worry, it’s their birthday right? That’s much like the mall because when I go alone, I get guilting for wanting all those things and even purchasing some when I have most of the things I already need, but when I’m with my friends, it makes a whole difference. 

Another stop along the way includes countless hours of boring school. School isn’t exactly the most fun place to be, but it’s the people there who make it somewhat enjoyable. Classes are long and seem to drag and the meals are questionable, yet seem to still taste okay, but it’s the laughs and the chatter that makes it all worthwhile. Though I’ve spent many hours and days in schools, it’s all another stop along the way of my destination. 

Lincoln may not be my choice of place to stay, but it’s a chapter in the book that I wouldn’t replace. From the thousands of mall trips and days spent in school and the friends who came along too, Lincoln can be a great place to be. 

