Tags

, ,

Author’s Note
Dear Reader,
When I was beginning this assignment, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do letter to my mom from when I was little, to show how my view of heroism has changed, or letters to my mom showing how she is hero in specific events. I began to write the two different kinds of letters and decided that it would be more efficient to show my progression of understanding of heroism.
These letters will see have errors and mistakes, even after several revisions. I struggled with not trailing off and leaving my main topic of explaining how my mother is a hero. In the beginning, I also had a hard time with using the correct grammar for the correct age. It was sometimes hard to put myself back at the middle school level, but this really showed me how much my writing has improved since then.
Another aspect I struggled with was the length of the letters. I knew as a younger child, I wouldn’t be writing longer letters, but I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to get my point across. After some tweaking, I thought I was able to stay within the age range, but still say what I was wanting to say.
One strength I had was expressing how my mom is a hero to me today. My mother has a large impact on my life, so sharing how I would like to be remotely like her, was not something difficult to do. It was simple to share how the little things she does can mean so much to me.
Another strength that I thought I had was using descriptive words and specific events where my mother’s heroism really stands out. For example, when I said “You constantly repeat your daily routines of going to work, carpooling to soccer, basketball, and football games, prepping dinner, folding clothes and being an avid listener to your kids, especially me with all my complaining.” I was able to explain several experiences where my mother does things that are heroic to me.
Over all, I will be proud to share these letters with my mom and I will be getting a positive response. Thank you for taking the time to read my letters, and I hope you find enjoyment for some time.
Love the english senior,
Jordyn Popple
Letters To My Mother
November 2005
Dear Mommy,
I want to be like superman. He saves people. He has really cool powers like flying and x-ray vision. I want to save lots of people like him. It is really cool how he is a normal person around everyone and then he takes of his glasses and now he can save people. I want to be a hero like that.
Love your little girl,
Jordyn
March 2009
Dear Mom,
I want to make a difference in the world. After learning about the things people like Martin Luther King Jr. and Jesus Christ (I know I can’t do anything remotely close to what Jesus did) have done to the society, I know I can have an impact on people in this world, and I long to do just that. Martin Luther King Jr. started out as a normal person just like me, so why can’t I make a large impact on someone’s life much like they have?
I’m not sure what kind of movement I need to stand up for, or what problem I can bring forth and make a statement about. Maybe something drastic in the world will happen and then I can jump on the opportunity.
I want to make you proud someday and show you that I can make a difference in a lot of people’s lives.
Love your growing girl,
Jordyn
December 2016
Dear Mom,
I used to want to be like a superhero or like some big famous person. Now, I know I want to be like you. I used to think you had to have powers or be some big figure in the society in order to make a difference in someone’s life. Growing up, I began to realize there are heroes all around me. One big hero in my life that I used to be so oblivious to is you. You are the one who always makes sure I have clothes on my body and a roof over my head. You always bring dinner to the table, even if you have to put in extra hours at work. You never fail to get me what I need and provide nearly everything I want. You show me that heroes don’t have to do something drastic to make a difference. Your time, love, selflessness, and knowledge are all things that prove to me that you truly are my hero.
To me, it seems as if you’ve never have enough time to do the things you want, but somehow you manage to get anything and everything done. You juggle your problems, work, and being there for our family at all times. You wake up at three in the morning to listen to my problems. You wake up before dawn to make breakfast and go to sleep long after sunset to make sure I’m home safe and in bed. Even though you’re tired, you still manage to go about the day with a smile on your face.
No matter what I do, what mistakes I make, what I say, how much sass I give you, or how much I upset you, your love for me will never subside and will always be unconditional. I’m always the one who will push you away, or lock myself in my room for the night, but you will still knock on my door and ask if there is anything I need. Even after a big argument at night, you still hug me and tell me that you love me before we part and go to bed. No matter how big the fight or disagreement, I can always count on you to resolve the issue, because we both know I am too stubborn. Your smile is truly contagious and your love is everlasting.
You think of our family first, and only us. Day in and day out you give and don’t stop giving. You constantly repeat your daily routines of going to work, carpooling to soccer, basketball, and football games, prepping dinner, folding clothes and being an avid listener to your kids, especially me with all my complaining. Although I think you are overprotective when it comes to rules, I know it’s because you’re only making me a better person.
You are the one who supports my dreams when no one else will. When the world turns its back on me, you’ll be standing there with open arms. You’re the unbiased opinion I need once drama strikes and you get me out of trouble when I need it, such as the time when I went out to lunch as a freshman when I wasn’t supposed to. You’re my person (like the Grey’s Anatomy reference?). Nothing is as valuable as your presence. This is proven because I look for you at my basketball games and am instantly able to calm down. I swear you know me better than I know myself. You sense my pain, like when I get stomach aches from eating too much dairy, and you radiate positivity. You can read my mind in situations of awkward silence. You know me like the back of your hand.
Mom, I want you to know that I am so thankful to have you in my life. I only hope to be half the woman that you are and I’d like to dedicate this to you for being the strongest and most incredible woman I know. Thank you for being my hero and several others too.
Love your senior,
Jordyn

