I have decided to read 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher. This book is structurally built around the characters and their development. It happens to be a simple read, easy to get pages in a short amount of time, but it’s also content heavy in specific sections. There aren’t any huge vocabulary words that any average person wouldn’t be able to understand, making it easy to go from line to line with ease. I do have to admit, there are some spots where I had paused in order to take in what I had just read, due to the severity of the topic. This book is also very good at really hooking you in and making it terribly hard to set down. Personally, I am a sucker for books like this. If I am so hooked in that I don’t want to ever stop reading, then I am bound to continue to read until I get to a spot I can comfortable stop at, of which I’m not sure if there are many, if any, points in this book where you can successfully do that. 

Overall, since the book is based on characters, there are several of them. 14 main ones to be exact. Within the first page of the book, Hannah, the one who recorded the tapes in this book, states the plot. She says through Clay’s old stereo in his garage, “I hope you’re ready, because I’m about to tell you the story of my life. More specifically, why my life ended. And if you’re listening to these tapes, you’re one the reasons why.” This quote can almost leave you breathless, or give you chills, realizing the book you are about to get into. This novel revolves around Clay, the narrator, listening to the tapes left behind from the girl who killed herself just days before. She’s goes into the depths of the horrors she was put through and explains who did what, leading to her miserable thoughts and actions. 

The book covers the experiences someone might go through in high school, although most are unlikely, but could happen to several. This happens to be strongly emotional and graphic, at times, which would leave me recommending this book to someone who has a sensitive side, not completely cold-hearted. 

