Dear Future High Schooler,
          There are some spontaneous, stressful, adventurous, and fun memories you are about to make. Before I started high school, I was always told to pay attention to my grades. As any somewhat average student would, I kept them high, but not as high and I wish I would’ve kept them. As a senior now, I wish I would’ve tried a little harder my freshman and sophomore year. Believe me, those years really do matter. It truly is important to study for those classes that you think will go by with a breeze. It’s less stressful to get a head start on those big assignments. It’s going to feel a lot better if you try your hardest all four years and don’t procrastinate. I know every student will procrastinate at some point, but it’s best to try not to. I’ve also learned that you’re going to feel much better about yourself if you keep the grades you want and get the assignments done on time, if not early. I promise you that all these things matter. 

          Another piece of advice I was always given was to take your time and enjoy high school. I always thought that time went by so slow, but as I am about to walk across a stage and say goodbye to high school, I am still feeling like I was a freshman just yesterday. Always hang on to the good memories and kiss the bad ones goodbye. It’s so important to spend time with your friends and get involved with extracurricular activities. The more involved you are, the more you’re going to love the countless hours spent in one building. The time flies by so remember the games you win, the performances you smash, and the friends you make along the way. Now, I am saying that you should be super involved, but you should also find a balance between time you need to take for school and the extra time you are going to have to hang out with your friends. Take the time to hang out with them and take a break from all the homework and studying, but don’t forget about those huge projects and assignments. 

           As you go throughout high school, you are going to hit some speed bumps. There are going to be times you fall down (both literally and figuratively). Sometimes it’s even going to be really hard to get back up, but it’s so worth it. A bible verse that I always kept in mind and always will is Proverbs 24:16. This verse states “For though the righteous fall seven times, they rise again.” I’ve kept this bible verse in my back pocket with the times of struggle. It is nice to know that no matter how many times you fall down, the good Lord will help you get up every single time. It’s not always encouraging to hear that you are going to hit some rough patches, but I can also tell you that these are going to help you only become stronger and handle similar and different situations in the future. The next blow isn’t going to hit you as hard, and you’re going to know how to handle it. 

          As I spend time thinking at the future, it can be breathtaking or nerve racking, but it’s also is exciting and adventurous. I’m going to be moving out of my home, in with a couple semi-strangers, with a whole new environment. It’s exciting to be able to be out on your own and get a taste of the “real world”, but it’s scary to be leaving everything you have been used to for at least the past four years. As I’m leaving, I will carry my faith with me as it has been greatly strengthen throughout high school. This has grown so important to me as I’ve already found a church by my college. Another thing I plan to take is hopeful my own advice that I had learned. I hope to just experience college and spend time with my new friends, but also study hard so I can reach the goals I have placed ahead of me. 

          Overall, high school is an unforgettable experience and it’s worth the four years. Take your time and process everything. Spend time with your family and friends and make lots of memories. After all, you might miss to someday. 

Love,

Jordyn Popple 

