When the sun is peaking through patchy clouds and the wind gives a light breeze, just enough to cool me off for a couple seconds, is the perfect day to explore the farm. The sun is hot, but the breeze is cold. The enormous trees create shade for the short walk to the barn. Looking to the left there is the bean field, just starting to sprout green. To the right, there’s alphalfa, itchy to run through, but beautifully surround the old windmill that’s been there since my great grandpa was a little boy. Once you reach the barn, you’ll see the red paint scratched and old. It seems to be starting to slant, but still holding up strong because no storm could tear that down. Looking up, you can see the faded letter of the words “A. L. Kring”; my great great grandpas name. The grass can get kind of long from time to time, but the only things you’ll find in it is lots of grasshoppers. 

To the left of the barn, the cattle pin wraps around behind the barn and is filled with straw and manure. It doesn’t always give off the most pleasant smell. If some cattle are there, it’s most likely the heifers that we want to stay away from the bulls. To the right of the barn, you can still see a small section of the pin, but the path next to it leads to the grazing field where the cattle roam. My grandpa typically leaves a nice path mowed for people to walk through. 

My favorite part is crawling into the barn, it looks like a mess. There’s a lot of wood and old saddles laying in the back corner, and the old stairs are still standing strong. Once you walk up them, you see old feed and seed bags. I lie to open the top door, where my grandpa and mom always told me stories about throwing hay bails over the top. I sit there on the ledge and hang my feet over, breathing in the fresh country air and listening to the soft birds chirp. 

